BlackLeafwatch the watchmen
Texas public higher education salary-supplement disclosure law

9 of 14 Texas Colleges Skipped a Required Pay-Supplement Disclosure

Summary

Fourteen of Texas's 112 public colleges and universities accepted outside money in 2023-2025 that a donor designated to boost a specific employee's, position's, or endowment's pay. State law requires posting the dollar amount of each one online; nine of the fourteen did not, according to the Texas State Auditor's Office.

By Frontinus · September 16, 2026

Texas law lets a donor pay to top up a specific public employee's salary -- and requires the receiving college to post the dollar amount online so the public can see it. When the Texas State Auditor's Office surveyed all 190 of the state's public higher-education institutions and executive-branch agencies, 14 of the 112 colleges and universities -- 13 percent -- reported taking gifts, grants, or donations a donor had designated as a salary supplement for a named person, position, or endowment during fiscal years 2023 through 2025. None of the 78 state agencies surveyed reported taking any.

Who took the money

The 14 institutions ranged from small community colleges to a health-science center. University of North Texas reported the most in a single year -- 33 supplements in fiscal 2025 alone, funded by endowments for department chairs and professorships, after reporting none in the two years before. Lone Star College System's count climbed steadily -- 6 in 2023, 10 in 2024, 15 in 2025, funded by a mix of nonprofits, federal agencies, and state entities. At the other end, five institutions reported a single supplement across all three years.

Salary supplements reported per institution, FY2023-2025 combined
Gifts, grants, or donations a donor designated for a named employee's, position's, or endowment's pay
University of North Texas
33
Lone Star College System
31
Lamar State College Port Arthur
18
Weatherford College
13
Midland College
10
Hill College
8
Texas A&M University - Texarkana
8
Victoria College
7
Alvin Community College
3
Tyler Junior College
3
Texas A&M University - Kingsville
3
Texas A&M University - San Antonio
2
Del Mar College District
1
UNT Health Fort Worth
1
Source: Texas State Auditor's Office, Report No. 26-016 (Feb. 2026), Figure 1
View data as table
University of North Texas330 (FY23) + 0 (FY24) + 33 (FY25) -- all from endowments for department chairs and professorships
Lone Star College System316 (FY23) + 10 (FY24) + 15 (FY25)
Lamar State College Port Arthur183 (FY23) + 7 (FY24) + 8 (FY25)
Weatherford College134 (FY23) + 5 (FY24) + 4 (FY25) -- athletic booster-club auto allowances for coaches
Midland College100 (FY23) + 0 (FY24) + 10 (FY25)
Hill College81 (FY23) + 1 (FY24) + 6 (FY25)
Texas A&M University - Texarkana82 (FY23) + 3 (FY24) + 3 (FY25)
Victoria College72 (FY23) + 2 (FY24) + 3 (FY25)
Alvin Community College31 (FY23) + 1 (FY24) + 1 (FY25)
Tyler Junior College31 (FY23) + 1 (FY24) + 1 (FY25) -- the single reported supplement was terminated Dec. 31, 2025
Texas A&M University - Kingsville31 (FY23) + 1 (FY24) + 1 (FY25)
Texas A&M University - San Antonio20 (FY23) + 0 (FY24) + 2 (FY25)
Del Mar College District11 (FY23) + 0 (FY24) + 0 (FY25)
UNT Health Fort Worth11 (FY23) + 0 (FY24) + 0 (FY25)

The law says post the amount. Most didn't.

Several of the non-disclosing institutions told the auditor their donors were organizations rather than individuals, and treated that as a reason the posting requirement didn't apply -- the statute's text does not carve out that exception, and the auditor's report does not resolve the question either way.

Colleges reporting donor pay supplements
14 of 112
13% of Texas's public higher-ed institutions, FY2023-2025
Didn't post the required dollar amount
9 of 14
64% of the colleges that took one
Missing a conflict-of-interest policy
3 of 14
21% of the colleges that took one
Did the college post what state law requires?
Compliance among the 14 institutions that reported salary supplements
Amount disclosed
5
Amount not disclosed
9
Conflict-of-interest policy posted
11
Conflict-of-interest policy not posted
3
Source: Texas State Auditor's Office, Report No. 26-016 (Feb. 2026), Figure 5
View data as table
Self-reported to the State Auditor's Office via survey; the office did not independently verify institutions' compliance claims. Several non-disclosing institutions told the auditor their donors were organizations rather than individuals, which they treated as a reason not to post an amount.
Posted required dollar amount5 of 14Sec. 659.0201(b)
Posted conflict-of-interest policy11 of 14Sec. 659.0201(c)

Two examples of what a supplement actually pays for

The survey's use-of-funds answers show how differently a "salary supplement" can function. At Weatherford College, the supplements come from athletic booster clubs, which send the Business Office letters instructing it to move money from booster-club accounts to cover coaches' monthly auto allowances -- Weatherford reported posting both the amount and its conflict-of-interest policy. At Tyler Junior College, the sole reported instance was a single gift accepted through the college's foundation, which the college terminated effective December 31, 2025 -- Tyler Junior College reported posting neither the amount nor a conflict-of-interest policy.

The takeaway

  • 14 of Texas's 112 public colleges and universities reported taking donor-funded salary supplements for named employees, positions, or endowments in fiscal years 2023-2025 -- from booster clubs paying coaches' auto allowances to endowments funding department-chair pay -- while none of the 78 state agencies surveyed reported any.
  • State law requires posting the dollar amount of every such supplement online; 9 of the 14 institutions that took one reported not doing so, and 3 also reported not posting the required conflict-of-interest policy.
  • University of North Texas reported the single largest count -- 33 supplements in fiscal 2025 alone -- and told the auditor it could not determine whether it complied with the disclosure requirement.

Figures are from the Texas State Auditor's Office's Report No. 26-016, published February 2026 and fetched directly from sao.texas.gov; a Wayback Machine capture of the same PDF from March 15, 2026 is linked in Sources as the archived copy. The underlying statute bars posting a donor's name, and the auditor's report does not name any individual donor or allege wrongdoing by any named person; neither does this piece. Compliance figures are institutions' self-reported survey answers to the State Auditor's Office, which did not independently verify them.

The 141-supplement three-year total, the 64% non-disclosure rate, and the 21% conflict-of-interest-policy gap are this outlet's own arithmetic on counts the report states separately by institution and year (methods and caveats in analysis.json); the auditor's report does not state any of these totals or rates itself. A blind adversarial verifier, working from the primary document alone with no access to this draft, independently checked every itemized fact; see verification.json.

Sources(1) ▾
  • Texas State Auditor's Office, A Report on Salary Supplements at Public Higher Education Institutions and State Agencies (Report No. 26-016) (2026-02-01)Source for the survey scope (190 entities), the 14-of-112 institutions reporting salary supplements, the per-institution/per-year supplement counts (Figure 1), the donor-entity and use-of-funds detail (Figures 2-3), and the website-disclosure compliance findings (Figure 5), plus the underlying statutory text (Appendix 2). sao.texas.gov · original document
Weekly digest: the most-read systems, in brief. Mondays.

Comments

Always open. Logged-in readers can annotate paragraphs in place.

Loading comments…
or log in to comment under your account